The Truth


“Rakshit is Ishika with you?” , enquired her dad.

“Yes dad I am with him”, came the reply. “I came here to sort some matters out with him but i never knew it was you behind this. I won’t be coming back dad. I want my life to be sorted. I want to be someone known for what I am, loved for what I am. I have always heard people saying life gives chances. Well you never let the chances reach me so this is how I am going to snatch it. I am not staying here and dare you trouble Rakshit anymore. I don’t want him to be troubled more because of me. I am grown up enough to understand what’s right and wrong for me.” Her anger was evident and so was her grief.

“Ishika you can’t do this to your parents. It’s wrong.” Rakshit very well knew her father would be there any minute to get her so all he had to do was stop her from leaving for some more time.

“How can you say that after whatever happened. You know what they did to me. I know they have been nice all throughout. But life is just not about material things. I am happy without expensive and branded products. I just wanted to feel that I was there own child not some responsibility. They never thought I am different from that showpiece in their living room that is just there for decoration.” Tears were rolling down her cheeks and the words were barely audible. 

“Don’t cry. I understand your grief but the path you are choosing to overcome it is not the solution. Please don’t go. If not for your parents then for me. Please stay because I need you.”

Her sudden laughter gave him a reality check. “For you? For a person who left me just on a phone call from my dad? That’s all you had for me. I am nothing to you and you are nothing to me. I was here for my answers not any apology. I am leaving for never coming back to this life again.”

“What will you do? Where will you ho? You have no one. The life out there is not easy and you are still a kid don’t try and act like you are all grown up. You cannot take such an extreme step. You have your whole life ahead of you. What will happen to your studies. You were never so rebellious. What is wrong with you? Ishika try and understand, talk to them they will understand the situation. Please don’t go. Don’t be so stubborn.”

“What do you think you are? I know I am not grown up but atleast I am not selfish as you are, the way you have been with me. Where were you when my grades went down? Where were you when I needed you the most? You were nowhere. I am leaving and that’s final. You are right that I have no one but atleast I will be happy that I don’t have you people.”

The door bell rang.

Mr. Singh came in and Ishika exclaimed, “oh so that’s the plan!” 

“I am not going back.”

“Oh yes you are not. I am sending you out of the city right away. You are not supposed to be staying here a moment more.”

He dragged her away from him.

2 thoughts on “The Truth

  1. Hey there Sudhi,

    Thanks a lot for the follow on my blog. This story of yours is quite interesting. I enjoyed it. Is this a standalone or part of a series?

    Happy blogging. God bless. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

